Phoenix at First Sight

I never really believed
In love at first sight.
But, I truly admire those
Who can believe in nothing but.
Their passion is loud,
Roaring like a lion and burning
Like a phoenix beating its wings.
There’s this Australian comedian,
With too much hair and WAY too much eyeliner.
He wrote this song about love that
I think sums up my passion well.
There’s this line about love growing
Like a tumor, and spreading
And how he should have had it removed when
Their love was benign and it’s more true
Than I think I could phrase.
See I love slowly.
But, a snail’s paced love affair
Never writes as well as when
You see them and you know.
I mean don’t get me wrong
I’m a sucker for pretty eyes,
But that’s not love to me.
If it was, I’d throw my heart
At the feet of every
Blue eyed boy
Or red haired girl
Or shy smiled-
Look, you get it.
But then I met you.
And YOUR blue eyes
And YOUR not so shy smile.
And I realized what they meant when
They said You Had me at Hello.
And I burned like a phoenix
And I roared like a lioness.
And you-
I learned what it felt like
To be a firebird when it dies.
Their own flames consume them,
And they burst into ashes.
Then they are reborn
To begin, to love, again from
Their countless pieces.
But I heal like I love:
A snail in Phoenix feathers
With her shell made of ash
Inching towards being made anew.
Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

