(but I love you)

This is not a love poem.

No this poem is not about

How pretty your

Eyes

Smile

Nose

Laugh

Are and how they make my

Heart

Soul

Head

Body

Ache when I think about them.

So if you were looking for the one

Where the girl gets up the courage

To tell you she loves you:

This poem is not for you.

You can find my other pieces

If that’s what you want to hear.

This is a poem for walking away.

Because I am

Tired

Exhausted

Frustrated

Done

With hurting with you.

Not hurting you,

Not being hurt by you.

Because being with you hurts.

Because I want

You

We

Us

Forever?

For now.

And that is the one thing

You can’t give me.

And I can’t take back

The things I gave you.

I can’t take back my

Stories

Laughter

Pain

Time

But you can keep those pieces

Because this is not a love poem.

This is a poem for healing.

This is not a door I am slamming,

But a window I need to open

Because I don’t want to go.

I want to keep

You

We

Us

Forever?

For now.

But I’m not what you need right now

And so I need to go.

No not Forever.

For now.

I need to leave so I can learn

How to be your

Sister

Confidant

Protector

So this isn’t another poem

About unrequited love.

This is not a poem

Where you’ll wake up

And I’ll be here and you’ll

Be Available

Be Willing

Be Ready

To try something new.

No this poem

Is not a love poem.

But I love you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

